• Updated On 2017-03-30 13:56:49
  • Author :
  • Topic : kolkata

      The Kolkata Knight Riders is representing the city of kolkata and it was owned by actor  Shah Rukh Khan, actress Juhi Chawla and her spouse Jay Mehta.The team captain is  Gautam gambhir he is one of the successful captain in Indian Premier League and coached by Jacques Kallis.The home ground of the Kolkata Knight Riders is Eden Gardens and it is the second largest in the world by seating capacity.

kolkata knight riders


      The brand value of the Knight Riders was estimated at $86 million in 2015, the highest valuation amongst all eight teams by a margin.The Knight Riders hold the record for the longest winning streak by any Indian team in T20s.


      The home ground of the Kolkata Knight Riders is indias largest cricket stadium Eden Gardens and it is the second largest in the world in terms of by seating capacity.


      The team had Sourav Ganguly as skipper, John Buchanan as coach and the iconic players such as Ricky Ponting, Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum and Shoaib Akhtar, even they finished sixth in the first and third editions.In 2009 Kolkata Knight Riders finished 8th position on the table was just as bad.

Kolkata Knight Riders learnt lessons from failures and start as new squad in 4th editions of Indian Premier League and enter into playoffs but only getting 4th position on the table.In 2011 Indian Premier League  Kolkata Knight Riders heavily invested to getting Gautam gambhir as skipper and Yusuf Pathan as finisher,Jacques Kallis and Sunil Narine.

In 2012 Kolkata Knight Riders won the final to become the first time, beating defending champions Chennai Super Kings by five wickets in the final.In Kolkata Knight Riders the bowlers win the most of the matches because of Sunil  Narine, all rounder Shakib Al-Hasan, Piyush Chawla.In 2013 Kolkata Knight Riders are eliminatedin the League stage to gave shock to his fans to completed with 7th spot among 9 teams.

In 2014, Kolkata Knight Riders added Robin Uthappa, Manish Pandey and Surya Kumar Yadav to his squad and it helped lot them to got their second title in the Indian Premier League.In 2015 again Kolkata Knight Riders are eliminated in the League stage to gave shock to his fans and just missed with Playoffs chance to finished as 5th spot on the table.

In 2016 edition of Indian Premier League, they acquired six pacers in the form of all-rounders John Hastings,  Jason Holder, Rajagopal Sathish,Colin Munro, Ankit Rajpoot and Jaydev Unadkat and it helps them enter into Playoffs but not helps to making them champions.In 2017 edition of Indian Premier League, they released Colin Munro, Brad Hogg, Jason Holder, Morne Morkel, Rajagopal Sathish,John Hastings, Jaydev Unadkat, Manan Sharm and Morkel has been replaced by Trent Boult


      Until 2014 Nokia was the official founding sponsor of the Kolkata Knight Riders and co-sponsors  are  Star Plus, Reebok, Sprite, Gitanjali Group,Doublemint, ,Pan Vilas,U.S. Polo Assn., Uber, Dish TV, HDIL, Kit Kat, SAP AG,  Fever 104 FM.

In 2015 they signed sponsor as mobile phone manufacturer Gionee took three-year deal and they have co-sponsorship deals with Ola Cabs, Red FM 93.5, Royal Stag, The Telegraph, Sansui Electric, Lux Cozi, Pepsi,Fancy.com , Apollo Gleneagles Hospitals, Adamas University, ICICI Bank, Lafarge and Sony Music India 


1 Chennai Super Kings 2008–2015 16 6 10 0
2 Mumbai Indians 2008–2016 18 5 13 0
3 Royal Challengers Bangalore 2008–2016 19 10 9 0
4 Deccan Chargers 2008–2012 9 7 2 0
5 Delhi Daredevils 2008–2016 18 10 8 0
6 Gujarat Lions 2016 2 0 2 0
7 Rajasthan Royalsa 2008–2015 15 6 7 2
8 Kings XI Punjab 2008–2016 19 13 6 0
9 Pune Warriors India 2011–2013 5 4 1 0
10 Kochi Tuskers Kerala 2011 2 0 2 0
11 Sunrisers Hyderabad 2013-2016 9 6 3 0
12 Rising Pune Supergiants 2016 2 2 0 0


1 10 Apr 2016 Delhi Daredevils Kolkata Won by 9 wickets
2 13 Apr 2016 Mumbai Indians Kolkata Lost by 6 wickets
3 16 Apr 2016 Hyderabad Hyderabad Won by 8 wickets
4 19 Apr 2016 Kings XI Mohali Won by 6 wickets
5 24 Apr 2016 Pune Pune Won by 2 wickets
6 28 Apr 2016 Mumbai Mumbai Lost by 6 wickets
7 30 Apr 2016 Delhi Daredevils Delhi Lost by 27 runs
8 2 May 2016 Bengaluru Bengaluru Won by 5 wickets
9 4 May 2016 Kings XI Kolkata Won by 7 runs
10 8 May 2016 Gujarat Kolkata Lost by 5 wickets
11 14 May 2016 Pune Kolkata Won by 8 wickets
12 16 May 2016 Bangalore Kolkata Lost by 9 wickets
13 19 May 2016 Gujarat Kanpur Lost by 6 wickets
14 22 May 2016 Hyderabad Kolkata Won by 22 runs
15 25 May 2016 Hyderabad Delhi Lost by 22 runs