• Updated On 2017-03-31 07:42:02
  • Author :
  • Topic : mumbai

      The Mumbai Indians is a cricket team representing the city of Mumbai, Maharashtra in  Indian Premier League (IPL). The team owned by Reliance Industries and the home ground of the Mumbai Indians is the Wankhede Stadium.The mumbai indians is one of the most successful team in the Indian Premier League (IPL)  and became the third team to win more than one Indian Premier League title.


They won the Champions League Twenty20 in 2011 by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore by 31 runs. The mumbai indians won the first Indian Premier League title  by defeating Chennai Super Kings by 23 runs in 2013 and again they won second Champions League Twenty20 title  by defeating Rajasthan Royals by 33 runs. They won their second IPL title on 24 May 2015 by defeating the Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in the final.

The mumbai indians captained by rohit sharma and coached by mahela jayawardene for the 2017 Indian Premier League season.

     The Mumbai Indians home ground is Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. The stadium is owned by the Mumbai Cricket Association and has a seating capacity of more than 30,000.


      The MasterCard was the official founding sponsor of the Mumbai Indians and the associate sponsors and official partners include Air India, Bridgestone, Dheeraj , East Coast LLC, Jet Airways, Kingfisher, Royal Stag , Wrigley's Orbit, Wrigley's Boomer, Msn,  DHFL, Samsung,  Pepsi,, Radio City, LYF and Red FM 93.5.


      At first player auctions for the 2008 IPL season, the Mumbai Indians bought several star international cricketers such as Shaun Pollock, Harbhajan Singh, Sanath Jayasuriya,  Lasith Malinga and Robin Uthappa. The Mumbai Indians named Sachin Tendulkar as the captain but Tendulkar was injured before the start of the 2008 season due to that Harbhajan Singh took over as the captain in the initial stage of the season 2008.

The team got bad start in the season losing their first four games and Harbhajan, was suspended from the tournament for the slapping Sreesanth 
Shaun Pollock took incharge the leadership duties until Tendulkar's return on 24 May.  Under Pollock's the Mumbai won six out of six games but unfortunately they finished fifth in the points table with 7 wins and 7 losses, missing  the Playoffs chance.In 2009 IPL Season Mumbai struggled to put up consistent performances during the season. 

They relied heavily on Duminy and Tendulkar's batting and finished only five wins from 14 matches, and took the seventh place on table. In 2010 Mumbai Indians bought all-rounder Kieron Pollard and appointed  Robin Singh as head coach . Mumbai Indians  won seven of their first eight games to took the top spot in the table and the success was mainly due to Tendulkar, Malinga, Ambati Rayudu and Harbhajan and they beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore by 35 runs in the semifinal, At the final, they were defeated by the Chennai Super Kings by 22 runs. In 2011 Mumbai Indians retained Tendulkar, Pollard, Harbhajan, Malinga and  they purchased Indian batsman Rohit Sharma.In 2011 IPL Season Mumbai Indians finished third on the points table with 18 points from 14 games and qualified for the Eliminator.

In the Eliminator Mumbai beat the Kolkata Knight Riders and  qualified for the  qualifying final final against Royal Challengers Bangalore and  Royal Challengers Bangalore won by 43 runs took move on final against Chennai Super Kings In 2012 Tendulkar missing out four matches due to an injury and Harbhajan was appointed as the captain and  Mumbai had four wins and four defeats, and they finished third on the points table with 20 points and qualified for the Eliminator against the Chennai Super Kings and they lose the match by 38 runs. In 2013 Rohit Sharma took lead of the team with Rohit Sharma in good batting form,  under his captaincy the Mumbai Indians improved a lot and won their first IPL title in 2013.

In 2014 Mumbai did not start well losing their first 5 matches but they comeback settle down to qualified with historic won against  Rajasthan Royals.But lost against the Chennai Super Kings in 2014.In 2015 Mumbai Indians won their second IPL title defeated Chennai Super Kings by 41 runs in final. In 2016 Mumbai Indians eliminated in the  League stage with 7 won and 7 lost.


1 2008 14 7 7 0 5
2 2009 14 5 8 1 7
3 2010 16 11 5 0 2
4 2011 16 10 6 0 3
5 2012 17 10 7 0 4
6 2013 19 13 6 0 1
7 2014 15 7 8 0 4
8 2015 16 10 6 0 1
9 2016 14 7 7 0 5


1 9 Apr 2016 Pune Mumbai Lost by 9 wickets
2 13 Apr 2016 Kolkata Kolkata Won by 6 wickets
3 16 Apr 2016 Gujarat Mumbai Lost by 3 wickets
4 18 Apr 2016 Hyderabad Hyderabad Lost by 7 wickets
5 20 Apr 2016 Bengaluru Mumbai Won by 6 wickets
6 23 Apr 2016 Delhi Daredevils Delhi Lost by 10 runs
7 25 Apr 2016 Kings XI Mohali Won by 25 runs
8 28 Apr 2016 Kolkata Mumbai Won by 6 wickets
9 1 May 2016 Pune Pune Won by 8 wickets
10 8 May 2016 Hyderabad Visakhapatnam Lost by 85 runs
11 11 May 2016 Bangalore Bengaluru Won by 6 wickets
12 13 May 2016 Kings XI Visakhapatnam Lost by 7 wickets
13 15 May 2016 Delhi Daredevils Visakhapatnam Won by 80 runs
14 21 May 2016 Gujarat Kanpur Lost by 6 wickets