• Updated On 2017-03-30 06:22:22
  • Author :
  • Topic : pune


      The Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) is a cricket team that plays in Indian Premier League starting from 2016. The Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) owned by  RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group under controlling of Sanjiv Goenka.The team announced on 2016 and Raghu Iyer appointed as CEO.



      The Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS)  home ground is the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune.In last Indian Premier League edition the Bombay High Court ordered all matches in May to be shifted out of the state due to water shortage in the state. The Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) is considering ACA-VDCA Cricket Stadium in Vishakhapatnam as an alternate home ground in Indian Premier League.


      The official sponsors for providing kit and shirt are  Kent RO Systems and associated sponsors are DBS Bank, Gulf Oil,  Gemini Oil, Finolex Pipes, Spykar, LYF Smartphones. The Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) also signed tournament partners they are Kingfishers,  Deakin University, New India Assurance , OLA.

IN IPL 2016

      The Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS)  made excellent start of their first game against the defending champions, Mumbai Indians by 9 wickets in IPL 2016 but they lose next four games against Gujarat Lions, Kings XI Punjab, Royal Challengers and the Kolkata Knight Riders.

The Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS)  win 6th game of the season against Sunrisers Hyderabad by 34 runs and they lost next two games aginst Gujarat Lions and Mumbai Indians.In the last match of their in the season and win the match in a thrilling way captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni standing in the crease  and scoring 63 runs from 23 balls.After end of league match the Rising Pune Supergiant (RPS) won 5 games out of 14 and won 2 of their home games.Pune Supergiant (RPS) finished at seventh place in the points table.


1 9 Apr 2016 Mumbai Mumbai Won by 9 wickets
2 14 Apr 2016 Gujarat Rajkot Lost by 7 wickets
3 17 Apr 2016 Kings XI Mohali Lost by 6 wickets
4 22 Apr 2016 Royal Challengers Bangalore Lost by 13 runs
5 24 Apr 2016 Kolkata Knight Riders Pune Lost by 2 wickets
6 26 Apr 2016 Hyderabad Hyderabad Won by 34 runs
7 29 Apr 2016 Gujarat Pune Lost by 3 wickets
8 1 May 2016 Mumbai Pune Lost by 8 wickets
9 5 May 2016 Delhi Delhi Won by 7 wickets
10 7 May 2016 Royal Challengers Bangalore Lost by 7 wickets
11 10 May 2016 Hyderabad Visakhapatnam Lost by 4 runs
12 14 May 2016 Kolkata Knight Riders Kolkata Lost by 8 wickets
13 17 May 2016 Delhi Visakhapatnam Won by 19 Runs
14 21 May 2016 Kings XI Visakhapatnam Won by 4 Wickets